Home » Western Crawford County » Election results determine winners
Election results determine winners Print E-mail
Monday, 09 November 2009 00:00

The November 3 elections showed interesting results and determined a number of winners in local races.

In Springboro, Philip A. Smith won the race for mayor by a 55-29 vote over Donald L. Cady.

On Springboro council , with 5 seeking four spots, winners were Carol J. Pittsenbarger with 58 votes, Philip O. Smith with 57, Wallace Hyde Jr. with 53 and Crystal Neiswonger with 53. Joseph J. Yates trailed with 38 votes.

Marilyn M. Jurysta won over Kay L. Smith, 56-28, for Inspector of Elections.

In Summerhill Township, Robert Arendash won over Daryl M. Redden, 174-33, for the 6-year term as supervisor; Bonnie Shuey won the tax collector post, 111-107, over Carol M. Richmond, pending any change due to absentee ballots which would occur at the time of final result tallies.

In Summit Township, William B. Agnew claimed the 6-year supervisor’s post, winning 219-88, over James R. Garlick.

In Conneautville, Tim Prince was elected mayor over Charles D. Gaza, 99-53. Myrna L. Adkins received the most votes of any one with 127 votes for Judge of Elections. Debra D. Welker won for auditor, 80-73, over Charlene Prince.

In East Fallowfield Township, where the only race was for Inspector of Elections, John Enterline won 88-72 over Ann Valesky.

Virginia Sheields received 139 votes for Judge of Elections, while Arvilla Baird was given 141 votes for tax collector. Kevin Lee Kean was returned to his supervisor’s post with 132 complimentary votes.

In Conneaut Township, Sally A. Gillette won over Rosemary Giles, 116-74, in the race for Inspector of Elections. George Greig, running unopposed for a 6-year term as supervisor, was given 152 complimentary votes.

In North Shenango Township, the winner of a 4-year term for supervisor was William Emerick, 195- 133, over Kenny Keltner. Eloise Settlemyre was the only candidate for a 6-year term as supervisor, and was given 281 votes.

In Pine Township, Suzanne K. Giering received 81 votes for the unopposed post of tax collector, while John K. Leffingwell received 64 votes to a 6-year supervisor’s post. He was unopposed.

In Linesville Borough, voters picked and chose with District Justice Rita Marwood receiving 125 votes out of 135 cast, the most for any ballot position.

Chris Seeley was given 121 votes in his unopposed race for mayor, a second term for someone elected 4 years ago as one of the youngest mayors in the nation.

Virginia Headley was elected tax collector with 113 votes, and Ed Kline Judge of Elections with 108, both unopposed.

For council, Linesville voters split votes for the 4 running for 4 council seats.

Ron Harper received the most, 96 votes, Kevin McGrath followed with 92, Pete Fizer was third with 70, and Tom McGrath totaled 67. All 4 will serve 4-year terms.